GarageSale 8.4.1 Crashing on Startup Mac OS X 10.15.7

The last time I used GarageSale a month or so ago, it worked fine. Since then, I don’t think that I have made any changes to my system but now, when I start GarageSale, I get to see the main window for a a fraction of a second before it crashes.

I have GarageSale 8.4.1 on a Mac Mini OS X Catalina 10.15.7 (the latest my Mac Mini supports).

I don’t know what other information I can provide.

Ebay made changes and 8.4.1 no longer works

And there is no update to fix this?

Upgrade to newest version 9.1. It needed rebuilt for the API

I upgraded only two years ago and now the application does not work?

I have been using GarageSale since about 2004 (the press kit says that iwascoding started in 2005 but the oldest version of GarageSale I have archived is v. 1.2.1 created on 15th December 2004 and the metadata for the photos from the first listing I created with GarageSale says 4th May 2004) and I have lost count of how many times I have paid for upgrades or full versions (and how much I have paid) when I probably didn’t need to and now I am being forced to upgrade?

It makes me wonder how the date cutoffs for free upgrades are determined because in almost 20 years, I have never received one.

Anyway, I am wondering if it is worth persevering with GarageSale as I have listed fewer than 200 items since 2004 - an average of not even one per month. I was going to list a few things next week but I will be looking into what other options are available.

The cutoff date for free updates for GarageSale 9 is August 1st, 2021, so people who bought GS 8 within roughly 6 months before the release don’t need to pay twice in a row.

That leaves people who bought GS 8 shortly after it’s release out in the cold, but having bought the update for GS 8 for 20 bucks two years ago is still a pretty good deal (~0.80$ / month), don’t you think?