"Condition required" bug still showing up

I’ve been observing this bug for several years now, based on the earlier posts about it.

It’s increasingly clear it’s something about the interaction of GarageSale and eBay producing the bug, not anything about my listings as far as I can determine.

Basically, every 4-6 days, a handful of listings I have manually ended and try to re-list will generate a validation warning:

Condition is required for this category.

The problem is that

1. the item was already listed, and nothing has changed in the 10 minutes since I stopped it
  2. when I look at the Supported Fields in the Category picker, GS does not actual “think” that category supports Condition. For example:
    Screenshot 2023-06-07 at 2.30.19 PM
  3. When I select “Update Categories” and wait, GS will download new, apparently correct support info, but will not update the supported attributes in the selected listing
  4. I need to change the category of every failing item to a different one, then deselect the Category picker, then reselect the correct category. It will then show “Condition” at the end of the list
  5. This process of category-change, deselect, reselect has to be done manually for every affected item. At no point does re-downloading the Categories seem to fix it, without changing the category of the items, too.

Observations:

• when I do this over the last few weeks, there is often a new bug introduced: Other categories that were detected as “fine” begin failing to verify on launch, but the ones I’ve fixed do verify
  • it is always “Condition” that is missing
  • it is always a small subset of categories, which I have checked still exist in the tree (some stitching ones, some toys ones, some collectible housewares ones)
  • it seems as if I get frustrated and walk away for an hour or so, it “fixes itself” somehow…?

Thoughts: